I want a discussion….

I hate when a person goes on and on…and expects me to just listen. When this happens, which it does frequently, I feel like a dirty magazine. Think about it, a person looks at the pictures found in magazines, similar to Playboy (classy) and Hustler (trashy) , and stimulates his/her genitalia so the feeling of sweet release is experienced. Likewise, people who talk to me without wanting me to ever talk back so they can fondle his/her egos with the belief what they say has more value then anybody else, including me, till they feel sweet release of self-importance.

I never want a person who honors me by reading my blog to feel like this here. To make sure you don’t….I encourage the reader to talk back to me about the topic of the post so we can engage in discussion.

Now it is up to you. πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “I want a discussion….

    • lol…how about the topic of the post? Why do you think we see the trend of not engaging in discussions of topics? Instead, we engage in posting our views on a topic and walk away feeling like we did something amazing. Now please tell me what you believe accounts for this.

      • I was talking about this with a friend last night actually… It’s a world where anyone and everyone can blog, express themselves, let it all out in domains that used to be reserved for the elite or select few… And since we’re all about “me me me” now, we all see ourselves as part of this diminished elite few who are special since we’ve been granted access to this world… When really, we’re just one of many seeking to make their voice heard. I think it sucks personally that the generation is self obsessed because this new fostering of self expression is wonderful and amazing… But not many people appreciate it because they’re too busy being wrapped up in themselves… Maybe one day when society adapts wholly to this technological and self expressive way of life we’ll see change in attitudes… But for now we have to keep reaching out to others- finding the balance between making the effort to be supportive of others whilst staying true to ourselves.

      • I love your reply. It’s depressing and wishful for change at same time. πŸ™‚ You are right….we have to keep trying to reach out and pay eventually change happens.

  1. When I see that I am over say 550 words, I feel “bad” for “talking” too long. I try to edit it and most times I am unsuccessful.
    I think the true test of whether I am talking too long is going to be determined by how many read what I say. I get to choose here whether I am a captive audience and it is as easy as a click of a mouse.

      • I believe we decided, after some discussion, all we can do is lead by example. Hopefully, in time, people will see just voicing your opinion is not enough to make the world we share a better place and see the value of developing the ability to discuss matters in a productive way rather defensively as a better option.

        What do you have to add to the discussion?

      • mmm…when I was working in different countries, before I retired, I had to learn to hear WHAT was said and ignore HOW it was said, which because of language issues, often sounded strident or arrogant
        (I worked with Germans, Americans, Koreans, Indians, Pakistanis, Thai, Japanese, Chinese, Italians, Spanish, Swedes and more)
        That way I learned a lot more than I thought I knew.
        πŸ™‚

      • I understand what you mean. While I am not as well traveled as you, I did spend a month in Pakistan. During that time I was spared feeling major cultural shock because I adopted the attitude and understanding that people may have different social norms and cultural priorities but as humans we share the same emotions and, for the most part, we all have a goodness at our core. This understanding allowed me to pardon actions that would have otherwise made me feel intimidated by the dismissive, rude and sometimes angry reactions people would give me.

      • You did the right thing Billie, a lot of people make the mistake of reacting first and regretting later while they are overseas and outside their homeland comfort zone.

        Looking thoughtful while you are trying to puzzle out what the heck is being said, keeps the situation calm, unless it’s obviously the prelude to a riot or similar, then you point behind them, shout “Look out!” and scamper off as fast as you can πŸ˜›

    • Sorry…suffering from back spasms and accidentally sent incomplete because of it. It does not matter how long a post is….a point can’t always be made in less than 100 words. But my educated guess is you also want those who read your words and claim to like them to start a discussion about the topic

  2. I appreciate when others take the time and make the effort to talk about their struggles and I don’t care how long the post is. If I feel its genuineness, I will read it. Truth is, since I work from home I spend a lot of time in my own head and reading others stories, being able to have a dialogue with some of the bloggers I follow or who are kind enough to follow me has become an important facet of life for me in a very short amount of time.

  3. You just led me to another blog. Beaten into Submission. I saw the title on your sidebar and had to take a look. So, glad I did. I read your comment on his post, by the way, and I love your idea of randomly giving others a” feel good moment,” should they care to accept it. I personally don’t think you do that in order to get payback later, so to speak. That idea reminds me of Dream’s Demand, the one I wrote the other day. Because we love in a certain way, that often gets us in a place where we think others should love the way we do. It is hard not to feel that way sometimes. So, I don’t think you want payback, you just want to be loved the way you love. So do I. But we all express ourselves uniquely, so we give what we are able and we accept what we choose. Much love to you! I am going to put your idea into practice. I do it with one person already, but why not others? I hope I got the gist of your comment correct, otherwise I just made no sense to you! πŸ™‚

    • Very happy you find Beaten into Submission a great blogging find like I do. What a great spirit he has!

      Btw…warms my heart to finally find a person who sees the value of my personal coping technique. I hope you find as much love returned as I have by making it a practice.

      Thanks for understanding this perfectly imperfect lady!

    • Oh! I forgot to thank you for addressing my fear that perhaps I had selfish intentions for doing what I do. I believe you are right…I don’t understand why people don’t love the way I do and I do feel hurt at times because of that.

      What you did in this comment is an example of what I do to feel better. You are very good at it.

  4. Oh, and another thing…:) when people react to my words of love with an “oh, you’re so crazy” (cause that happens to me, too) I get why they say that now. They are uncomfortable, so they minimize it and by extension minimize the one who just expressed their feelings. Unfortunate.

  5. We are saying what we are supposed to say
    We are writing the words we are supposed to write.
    We are being how we are supposed to be.
    I have made a decision to trust Ggod and turn my life over to Ggod’s care.
    I read your words when I am supposed to.
    You touch my soul and make me think
    I am better for it.
    Enough of the criticism of us.
    We are the sirens and the conscious of “us.”
    Thanks
    Your words are wonder full and I always love seeing the “eye.”

    • Thanks for your kind words that make me feel like I have something to offer to the world that I love yet confuses me in so many ways. You have become one of my treasured blogging finds. πŸ™‚

  6. Joseph Campbell said, “Myth must be kept alive. The people who can keep it alive are the artists of one kind or another.” Your words and many others do that for me.
    Love to US

Now it is your turn to speak...

