My Brave Artist (Villanelle)

I’m in love with a warrior artist.

He fights demons without making a fist.

I have watched him battle, with pen in had, he is the bravest!

I know his shoulders are not the broadest

and he is not considered part of the A list.

However, this is sadly the plight of any true artist.

He came into my life when it was the bleakest.

The world seemed to be wrapped in a suffocating evil mist.

His words slashed away at my gray existence proving he is the bravest!

I know, you are right. My opinion is biased.

But wanted to let you know about this great man…or at least a gist.

I want all to know of my love, the artist.

He entered my life when I was at my bluest

and gave me what I needed to have other colors with a twist.

Men, full of brawn, were daunted. Making him, small in stature, the bravest.

I have never been considered the brightest

and care others Β have for my opinion Β probably does not exist.

However, my heart would never find rest if I did not sing a tune of praise for the artist

who fights demons with his pen because he is the bravest.

15 thoughts on “My Brave Artist (Villanelle)

  1. This was wonderful. I love how it could be interpreted as you talking about another person or about yourself. the line “who fights demons with his pen”…delicious! For me that is what I’m doing on my blog fighting my addiction demons with my pen! Awesome! πŸ™‚

    • It is one of my favorites to. πŸ™‚ And you are correct, I wrote myself as the speaker and the Hero. I believe we all should be allowed to be our own hero at times. Don’t you?

      I wish you victory over your demons. May you dash them with your pen!

      (hugs)

      • Yes, I think we should all be allowed to be our own hero! I hope one day to get there! πŸ™‚ And thank I’m wielding my pen as a sword!!! xoxo

      • Oh and I hope you don’t mind I put a link to your blog in my 6:00 pm post. Since, you showed me the 7/5 Trochee form. I will take it off if you don’t want me to have it on there πŸ™‚

      • Please don’t remove it! I am so happy that you did me the honor! I will check it out really soon. In addition, I will try to compose a new one soon and link your blog to it as well. πŸ™‚

      • I’m not sure what time zone your in, but it won’t post for another hour and ten minutes. And thank you πŸ™‚

      • No thanks needed. After some recent thought I am going to be introducing a series of writings on my blog that I am excited about. I hope you let me know what you think of it. My intro, which I am writing now, and first two installments will be up soon.

    • Thank you. πŸ™‚ Before I start writing new stuff, I just wanted to send some older stuff back out for a second time before they get lost in the archives. lol

      I enjoyed this one to….writing it was very empowering for me. πŸ™‚

Now it is your turn to speak...

