Begging

Born a beggar with hand held out.

“Pardon me sir, can you spare a hug?”

“Excuse me lady, do you have an extra kiss?”

Food, shelter and clothing
Were panhandling earnings. However, yearnings were for so much more.

Desire was great to be that one gift in a person’s life

that made them think THEY were not worthy

to be in possession

of someone

full of light fresh from HEAVEN.

This is the birthright this beggar was denied.

So here I am….a beggar with hand held out.

4 thoughts on “Begging

  1. Thanks for thinking me clever. I am fond of ending my poems like I start them and absolutly LOVE using questions. I figure if poetry is supposed to stimulate the minds of readers…why not just out and out ask them? Or make them wonder why they are asked… I don’t know all my poems have resulted because of different things and I try to do new things all the time. This one happens to be the result of a friendly writing challenge presented in a writer’s group I belong to. Our mission was to write a poem about our parents…this was the result. I am pleased with the end results and you appreciate it….so that is enough for me. Thanks for honoring my words and myself with the time you took to read and comment on it. 🙂

    • Thanks for your words. Knowing how you see as the message in what I write makes me feel more confident that my words have been used with enough skill to accomplish the task they were intended for. 🙂

Now it is your turn to speak...

