He Let Her Dance

A girl,
denied her youth,
steals a moment.
Rain falling
Sun shining
Puddles forming
Believed her new umbrella
would be her only witness
as she danced without worry
just for an instant.
She finally felt the joy
of not trying to be perfect.
Shoes wet
Movements clumsy
Umbrella twirling
Her treasured moment
was shattered in an instant.
A man she spied
who was not her Father
yet claimed he loved her Mother.
All efforts to be perfect…gone.
She was caught
being perfectly imperfect.
Her dismay turned to delight.
Eyes did not belittle
Voice did not raise
Mouth did not frown
Her heavy heart lifted.
She felt tiny seed of worth planted
and vowed to love him forever
in an instant.
14 thoughts on “He Let Her Dance

    • Thank you so much for showing appreciation for it. This happens to be one of the poems that I hold very close to my heart. I often wonder why other people who happen on my blog over-look it and show more appreciation for other writings of mine that I personally feel are less deserving. Oh well, guess I will never know. Frankly, why does not matter now that I am not alone in seeing the beauty in this one. Thanks for sharing appreciation for this one.

      • You are very welcome. I think it is that there are some very meaningful pieces of writing that are difficult for others to interpret. Therefore, they fear to comment.

  1. You are right. I am prob am too close to the poem to see why people would not see the beauty. Sorta like having an ugly child, I’m only guessing, and the parents not understanding why others don’t ohhh and ahhh over them like other babies. lol That was a horrible example I know…but it is the only one that came to mind at this moment. Oh well….what is done is done and it works so I will let it stand. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. πŸ™‚ It started from a Short Story I wrote as a tribute to my Step-Father. However, I converted it to this poem for a writer’s group that I belong to. I am very fond of it as well. Thanks for seeing the beauty in it as well. πŸ™‚

    • I educated myself and can say I’m flattered. πŸ™‚ This is a moment in my life that has much meaning. Some may believe the singing butler saw the elites dancing during the elements as a silly use of time. However, I believe they wish they could have enough money, time, and influence to engage in a little silly themselves. That is how that little girl (me) felt. She saw all the other children laughing and having fun with the expectation they were going to do wrong…so when she to an instant to do that and was not told that it was not forbidden…she did not feel special…she felt normal.

      Sorry, I went on more of a rant than was needed.

      πŸ™‚

Now it is your turn to speak...

